GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Do 5/32″ and 3/16″ suffice as window panes?

erratic | Posted in Building Code Questions on

Do 5/32″ and 3/16″ suffice as window panes? Can they affixed to each other to achieve greater thickness to abide by codes?

I have a bunch of 6 ft by 7 ft glass panes that are 5/32″ and 3/16″ inches thick, I also have shipping containers I am considering furnishing into a commercial business/cafe. Please take note I am an absolute novice in construction at almost every regard and still in the information gathering stages, so I am trying to acquire as much information as possible before I need to spend money and if I can make use of what I already own, that can save me lots.

I am around the Chicago Illinois northwest suburbs

I am curious if I can make windows with these 5/32″ and 3/16″ glass panes. If they cant be used individually as windows, can they can be aligned beside each other to create a greater thickness in order to abide by any building codes or some other technique?

Do different towns have different codes pertaining to window thickness or size? Does a glass pane require a certain treatment in order to be a viable window?

Can I place some sort of film on a window that can make a glass pane compatible with codes, something so that it is safer?

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

H.B.,
    You may want to read an earlier GBA thread, How important is thickness of window glass?

2. erratic | | #2