GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

What do you think of this new build in New Zealand?

marcjb | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

Hi gang. I’ve been living in NZ for 18 months now and lately I’ve been working on a new house here. Previously I’ve been a builder in BC and I like to think that I produce warm cozy homes using the basic principles of building science like properly installed insulation and a detailed air barrier.

The building code here is different. While the structural part is excellent with close attention paid to seismic concerns, as it should (these are the shaky isles), I’m quite dismayed at no attention paid to air/vapour barrier. As in none. Also, the attic space is not vented. The building paper goes over top of the ridges and the soffit is made of 8mm hardie sheets, no vents. The exterior walls are 2×4 with three courses of blocking for rigidity, no sheathing. The wrb is stapled to the studs, seams and overlaps and edges are not taped, cavity battens (rain screen) over that, and then thick 15mm hardie board siding.

There will be multiple penetrations through the ceilings: recessed lights, sprinklers, ducts that will bring conditioned air from a heat pump. Drywall on the exterior walls will be penetrated by the usual powerpoints and switches etc.

While the roof is unvented it’s not air sealed either. My thought is that the stack effect will push warm humid air into the attic and the ceiling insulation will get humid and not perform to spec, and suck exterior air in from the usual places. The house is built on pilings. The subfloor is glued and screwed and I hope it’s a pretty good air barrier.