GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Tiny house with metal roof: vapor shield?

user-6887032 | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

I’m building a 20’ tiny house on a trailer with a 3:12 shed vented roof vented. My current plan for the roofing and ceiling structure consisting of 2×6 rafters is as follows: metal roof->water and ice shield->5/8” plywood->XPS foam between rafters->tongue & groove beetle kill planks. I am located in zone 5b with cold snowy winters. Is this layering plan sufficient to prevent condensation issues in the winter? The question is, do I need a vapor retarder between the plywood and xps foam, or between the tongue and groove and the xps, or skip a separately distinct vapor retarder? Thanks for any insights you can provide – I am a complete rookie. For what is worth, the heating will be small wood stove.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. user-6887032 | | #1

Sorry, the layers in my post above missed the 1" layer of xps between the T&G and framing.

2. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #2

User-6887032,
    To be safe, this type of roof assembly needs a vent channel between the uppermost layer of insulation and the roof sheathing. The vent channel needs to be connected to the soffit vents near the eaves and the ridge vent near the peak.

The method you have chosen is called the cut-and-cobble method -- generally not recommended for roofs, buy possible if you have a clear vent channel. For more information, see Cut-and-Cobble Insulation.