GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Roof replacement concerns; weird airflow; increasing R-value

amz1323 | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

This is my first post and its long.. I attached an image of what I think the current setup of our house is. Until the actual roof is opened I won’t know for sure. I’m also new to all this and the correct terms to use. Zone 6.
95% of the roof is cathedral ceiling with a small attic in a corner. The inside ceiling is drywall and TG. There seems to be a layer of clear plastic behind the drywall. 80% sure there is drywall behind the TG boards.

I think that the attic air flow is from soffits in the front, these soffits are in an open area with no baffles. Then there is a ridge vent at the top with MDF on top of the rafters leaving a 1 inch air gap to the north side of no where..

I think that on the north side of the house the air is open to a gap that runs down the exterior wall behind the siding.
One reason I suspect this is because we had a lot of mouse activity, then I put copper mesh stuffed into the bottom of this exterior wall gap from the outside and the mouse activity in the attic stopped.

A bathroom exhaust van also seems to lead to this exterior air space! (powder room) There is no exterior vent for it, it is just being run between two floor beams between the first and second floor to the exterior wall. We heated the bathroom and used a thermal camera to check this.

In the front of the house there are also a few vents from the roof/ soffit area that open into the house. These are currently covered with a wood panel and are not air sealed.