GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Insulate a cabin to last

musielski | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

Martin – I’ve learned a tremendous from you & GBA. This is a 1st asking a question. I’m also an engineer & lic Home Inspector, and I see what happens to homes.
I’m current building a cabin in northern Hayward, WI (Zone 7). I’m on a slab, 20’x26′, 1 1/2 story, 2×6 walls 16″ OC. I had a local carpenter put up the shell, and the rest is up to me. The cabin is sheathed in OSB, Tyvek, Fascia/soffit, and Anderson windows & door are in. I installed kraft faced R19 Batts in the walls (drywall & siding are not yet installed).
I went to the cabin this weekend ….cranked the space heaters, outside temp was 17, inside reached 70 & RH settled at 45. Sure enough, moisture & some ice on the sheathing when I pulled away batts. I want this to last 100 yrs for me, my kids, & next generations.
Exterior foam of 3″ is really not an option. I was going to run a experiment….pull back 3 or 4 cavities, install 2″ XPS, spray foam or snug fit back in place, compress the R19 reducing it to R13.
Granted…this is time consuming….but I never mind time at the cabin. I realize this doesn’t address thermal bridging. My concern is longevity.
1st…Are there any major flaws with this plan? moisture along edges, moisture between foam and OSB even though the surfaces touch, drying, etc?
2nd…Have you ever seen this done with a 1/2 gap between the ridged foam & OSB so theres no contact? …and possible vent holes at the top & bottom of the wall cavity?…basically a rainscreen on the opposite side of the OSB.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts