GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Is this a Good Final Envelope Decision?

SLCtinman | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

G’Afternoon! I am a residential designer in Salt Lake City, Utah and after a year of researching sites as FineHomebuilding, GreenBuildingAdvisor & Bldg Science Corp & debating with a client over the pros & cons of various wall envelope options, my client and I have reached the following decision regarding exterior envelope: 9 ft extr walls are 2×6 wood stud at 24″ o.c. with spray-in fiberglass cavity insulation/DOW Brand 1″ Structural Insulated Sheathing w taped seams/Stucco Finish. Btm & Top plates caulked/sealed & all penetrations foam-sealed. Expected wall R-Value approx 25. Slab-on-Grade w continuous 2″ rigid under slab insul. (client still debating radiant heat). Metal roof ovr Felt/OSB ovr raised heel premanuf Trusses. Min. R-38 blown-in attic insul. Low-e windows, 3 ft overhangs std. FYI, the home is to be built in Southern Utah in a mixed-dry climate (nearly identical to Alburquerque, NM). Total SF: 3154

So, whadda you Folks here think about this combination?

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Expert Member
    ARMANDO COBO | | #1

Tim,