GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Insulated siding question

user-1076930 | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

I am looking at building a home in southern Ohio. I want to use 2×6 walls with dense packed cellulose, drywall, Osb sheathing, tyvek house wrap, and progressive foam insulated siding. Does this seem ok as far as moisture issues / breath ability? Is it even worth it for energy savings to use the insulated vinyl siding? I like the thermal break that it would provide. I am very new at this so any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. user-1076930 | | #1

Also, what is your opinions on open cell spray foam directly on the underside of the roof deck?

2. jklingel | | #2

Let me ask you: Do you think that siding, which will let air all around it, is going to offer an appreciable amount of insulation? Consider plywood instead of OSB. Do a little searching here and you'll get your answer on the foam against the roof sheathing. (I think "not".) I did not see a vapor barrier in your list. Is that intentional? Search here for the story of the business that went belly up in S Ohio because they used vb's, and then the home owners ran air conditioning. (The problem may have been more to do w/ the brick (?) on the outside than the vb, but I doubt that you need a vb in S Ohio. Just air seal well.) PS: I am not a pro. My bother in law has been sheet rocking in N Ohio for 30 yrs, and never has seen a vb used on a house.

3. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #3

Aaron,
    I'm going to disagree with John Klingel.