GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Can I really use 2″ of rigid insulation under fiber cement siding?

jkarch | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

I’m an architect in Wisconsin (climate zone 6B) and am planning to build a 300 s.f. addition to my house. I’d like to side it in fiber cement siding to match the existing house. According to my calculations, if I want to use rigid foam insulation on the outside of the 2×6 walls (with R-21 fiberglass in the wall cavities), I need at least R-11.25 in order to avoid condensation on the inside face of the sheathing. I was thinking we could use 2″ of polyiso. However, when I look at the installation instructions for Certainteed and Hardiplank fiber cement siding, both say that non-structural sheathing thickness should not exceed 1″. Does this mean that I can’t use rigid insulation and fiber cement siding together in my climate zone?

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. user-966377 | | #1

Hi,
    We are working on a project here in Toronto, Ontario, Canada that is to have Hardieplank installed over external insulation - it can be done! The way we were told to install the siding (after discussions with Hardie, Tyvek, and the local building inspector) on min. 3/8" strapping - this can be ripped from any 3/8" building panel. Behind the 3/8" strapping is the Tyvek, creating an air cavity and drainage plane directly behind the Hardie, which prevents any moisture that penetrates the Hardie (and it will) from deteriorating any of the other building elements. The insulation is then behind the Tyvek.