GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Unvented attic with open-cell spray foam

NipwH3Y2so | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

Newbie here with a design question. Planning a retirement home about one hour west of Ft. Worth, TX, (Gordon,TX) climate 3B I believe. Having trouble with the proper unvented roof design using, as I’m told by most of the approved builders in my development, open cell sf (spot leaks if any develop). What are my most practicable, cost efficient methods of :

1) achieving my required R code value in the roof (R38 roof/R15 walls per USDOE website)
2) eliminating thermal bridging (if that is a concern in climate 3B?)
3) Use ADA air sealing of sheetrock

A portion of the roof will be a cathedral great room, the remaining attic will have the mechanicals in it.

My understanding is I cannot use poliso (as in a vented Hunter panel) over the open cell under the roof deck. Roof will most likely be composite shingles or metal panels, if budget allows.

My real concerns is the extreme summer heat they experience in this area.

Thanks. Learning alot on this great site.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

John,
    There are many ways to build an unvented cathedral ceiling. Learn about your options here: How to Build an Insulated Cathedral Ceiling.

Q. "What is my most practicable, cost efficient method of achieving my required R code value in the roof (R38 roof)?"