GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Setbacks?

user-947651 | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

I am an energy consultant working with homeowners of existing homes. Could use a little input on a recent question. Customer has a second home, upstate NY, ZONE 5, and resides only weekends. Asks what should I set back my t-stadt to during the 5 days a week we are not here? 1998 home, oil boiler, 3 zones, indirect hot water heater. Typical conventional (ranch) construction. I have come to believe too much setback short-term can be both an energy and comfort penealty in an average to poor enclosure home. When you get into multiple days setback I’m thinking common sense is the more the better and vacation mode on the dhw. Anybody have any insights would be greatly appreciated.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Mike,
    It depends on how vulnerable the plumbing pipes are to freezing. Air leaks in the basement or air leaks in an isolated bathroom can lead to frozen pipes, even when the living room is at 42 degrees F.

I would say that a thermostat setting of 50 degrees F should be relatively safe, but you need to know the house and use some judgment.

The homeowner might also consider installing an alarm that notifies the homeowner when the indoor temperature drops too low (as might happen if the boiler malfunctioned).

2. wjrobinson | | #2

50 degrees, water main shut, outside wall sink cabinets opened.

Water drained homes I set at 45 degrees.