Helpful? 0

Opinions or experience with APEX block?

Searching for wall assembly options, weighing cost, thermal performance, durability and so forth, below and above grade, SIPs, ICF, SCIPs, brought me to APEX block. Cementious mix with EPS type of ICF, the EPS form creates a tubular-type grid of concrete with rebar. Supposedly uses something like 25% less concrete than standard ICF, while claiming R-38, and uses recycled EPS at a lower cost than ICF. Anyone have any opinions/experience with the product?

Asked by Sal Lombardo
Posted Wed, 06/05/2013 - 14:17

Tags:

3 Answers

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Helpful? 0

Sal,
I have no experience with the product. However, I would be leery of any R-value claims.

According to one of the company's web pages, there is no information provided for "Thermal resistance - ASTM C1363 / ASTM C518." Instead, the page notes, "Results pending."

The company also makes exaggerated energy savings claims, which immediately makes me suspicious. One web page claims, "APEX Block structures are proven to save up to 50% on heating and cooling bills."

Answered by Martin Holladay, GBA Advisor
Posted Wed, 06/05/2013 - 16:37
Edited Wed, 06/05/2013 - 16:40.

Helpful? 0

Here is a link to a file that I read some time ago on the ORNL Whole Wall site. www.ornl.gov/sci/roofs+walls/research/detailed_papers/whole_bldg/pdf_fil... The simple answer is that the Apex block appears to be a variant form of Rastra/Cempo block. It appears that the whole wall value is likely about R7.6.