Q&A: A Forum for Green Building Experts and Beginners

Q & A Instructions

[Click map to enlarge]

The GBAGreenBuildingAdvisor.com web site has a wealth of articles on a wide variety of construction topics. Before posting your question, you may want to check out the articles on this page: How To Do Everything. You just might discover an article there that provides the information you seek.

Please register for a free account or sign in to ask and answer green building questions.

If you want to post a question, the usual rules of courtesy apply:
1. Be nice.
2. If you can't be nice, be polite.
3. If you can't be nice or polite — well, please be brief.

To attach a photo or illustration: Under the box labeled “More explanation,” look for the words “File attachments.” Click that, and you should be able to attach a photo.

Thanks for joining the conversation!

4 Answers

Mineral wool in an attic

This is a complete newbie question.

I read the article about Mineral Wool in Fine Homebuilding 254 (pp. 48-53 September 16, 2015) and it says that if you use it for insulating the floor of an unconditioned attic, you need to use a vapor barrier underneath it.

Would the painted drywall ceiling in the living space below the attic perform that function or do I need to install something in each rafter bay before putting in the mineral wool? Would that thin bubble-wrap-like insulation sheeting work?

Asked By George | Nov 25 15
1 Answer

Inward solar vapor drive with Zip R Sheathing

I am curious if Zip R sheathing would experience any issue with inward solar vapor drive.

We have an upcoming project that will use Zip R Sheathing (in the polyiso 1 1/2" variety) - and will also have a reservoir cladding - stone on the exterior. There will be a minimum 1/2" gap between the back of the stone and the zip - but it won't be ventilated. Still I was curious if the zip coating and osb might allow vapor to be driven through them only to condense at the outside of the polyiso.