GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

What is my expected air loss (ACH) under normal atmopheric conditions?

JoshEngle | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

I have a leaky old farmhouse that I am slowly over the years gutting and insulating and airsealing. I have a master plan that I plan to arrive at.
I am starting to think about a new heating system and to size my boiler I have created a spreadsheet to do a basic heat loss calculation. Since I am re insulating everything I have a very good idea of what my R values are so the thermal loss part is easy and intuitive for me. Where I get caught up is the air loss calculation. The math makes sense to me. If we break it down to Qi = (.0018)(N)(V)(Delta T) I know my Delta T, I know my volume, but I do not know the number of air changes in the house.
I performed a blower door test before I started on any of this and was not surprised by 17 ACH50.
I can’t perform an exit blower door test until I’m done with the whole building but I need to install my heat pipes before I close things up. Besides, even if I magically knew what the blower door number were, it would be at 50 pascals, not atmospheric pressure.
So: I have no idea how many ACH a leaky house has under atmospheric pressure, how many a reasonably tight house has, what an extremely tight house is expected to have. Any advice?
If it makes a difference I have about 23 K cubic feet and I’m insulating with 9 inches of dense packed cellulose. I have no specific air barrier but I’m planning on being very diligent when I finish with sheetrock. I’m guessing a blower door test will give me a number between 4 and 8 ACH50.

Thanks,
Josh

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts