GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Should I be concerned with these wall and roof insulation details?

user-5869412 | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

Hi,

I am a weatherization contractor located in coastal MA, climate zone 5. After reviewing countless articles here and from Joesph Lstiburek’s website, I’m concerned that the plans I received for a new construction project are not optimal and may pose problems down the road for the homeowner. Specifically, I’m looking to see if my concerns are accurate or if the plans are acceptable. My questions/concerns are (images for walls and ceiling as attached):

1. The plans call for double stud walls with 2×6 exterior and 2×4 interior framing (24″ O.C.) for a total of 12″ of dense packed cellulose. A continuous layer of polyethylene vapor barrier is called on the interior wall, covered by 1/2″ GWB. My concern is excessive moisture levels in the exterior sheathing (either 1/2″ plywood or Zip System) and potential failure in years to come. To further heighten my concerns, no rigid foam is called for on the exterior sheathing nor are furring strips. So my question is: Are my concerns accurate? If not, great, but an explanation why would be appreciated. If they are, and assuming cost is not an option, what would be an ideal assembly? Two that came to mind are below.

Option 1 – Joseph Lstiburek’s ideal double wall
http://buildingscience.com/documents/enclosures-that-work/high-r-value-wall-assemblies/high-r-value-double-stud-wall-construction?topic=doctypes/enclosures-that-work/etw-high-r-value-enclosure-assemblie

Option 2 – Rigid foam on the exterior, per Martin Holladay’s recommendations. https://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/blogs/dept/musings/calculating-minimum-thickness-rigid-foam-sheathing