GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Making a renovated building energy efficient

davidnorth | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

Hi all,

We’re in the building phase of completely renovating a chalet in Quebec. We are adding a floor, so the chalet will be two levels, about 1200 square feet. There’s a 4′ crawl space and no basement (we’re on Canadian Shield) and the chalet is facing south at the top of a slope to the lake. The contractor has done a number of similar renovations and is great to work with. I’m not an expert and don’t want to exasperate him with suggestions, but since concrete is being poured in a couple of weeks, and insulating and windows have not been installed it was suggested I post here.

Here is the floorplan and one elevation. There’s only been one modification so far; there will be windows across the kitchen facing the lake. We may revise the room proportions on the main part of the second floor.