GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Insulation Re-do

Homesteader1 | Posted in GBA Pro Help on

I am an architect working on a 2 BR/2BA high end addition above an existing garage in the mountains of Colorado. The exterior walls are 2×6 walls, roof has 2×12 rafters, floor is 11-7/8″ TJI’s with 1 1/2″ of gypcrete for radiant heating and tile floor. Garage below is heated and insulated. The contractor just insulated the new space and did it differently than spec’d. We caught it before drywall and he is going to go back and make changes to bring things to what was spec’d. We are having extremely cold temperatures right now (-15) and I’m concerned about installing foam on very cold sheathing. Here is what was spec’d and what was installed:

2×6 Wall spec: 2″ min. spray foam with blown-in cellulose insulation to fill the cavity, no vapor barrier. Installed: 5 1/2″ of blown fiberglass with vapor barrier.

2×12 Roof spec: 4″ min. spray foam with blown-in cellulose insulation, no vapor barrier.
Installed: roughly 2 1/2″ to 9″ spray foam and R-30C kraft faced batts. Doing a partial inspection I found one area about 12″x24″ where there was no foam against the roof sheathing.

2x Interior Wall spec: blown-in cellulose.
Installed: kraft faced batts and open faced batts.

11-7/8 TJI Garage Ceiling spec: blown-in cellulose for sound and insulation.
Installed: kraft faced batts. There are plumbing lines in the garage ceiling and contractor felt that batts would be better if there were ever a water leak.