GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Does anyone have thoughts on this wall section in regard to avoiding moisture problems and drying to the interior & exterior?

architect_sean | Posted in GBA Pro Help on

I am an architect in Boston preparing to build a home for my family on a marshfront site in Scituate MA (Zone 5 and 110MPH winds due to coastal proximity). Energy conservation is a key goal for the project. Originally I was planning an R48 double stud wall but circumstances have changed and I am now planning a single 2×6 stud wall with cellulose cavity insulation and rigid exterior insulation – total wall R value is about R38. The thinking on vapor / air / moisture barriers and retarders has gotten so complicated in recent years. I’ve read dozens of articles including those on GBA and I think I have a general appreciation for it at this point but worry that specification of the wrong material in one layer could cause significant problems. In days of old a layer of poly on the inside was standard (I actually think it still happens a lot). If I understand the science correctly the goal today is to allow a slight migration of vapor through that interior layer incase the wall ever needs to dry toward the inside. I believe that in Zone 5 a class 3VR, which includes certain paints is acceptable but I don’t really feel secure counting on paint to assure my wall performance, so a Class 2 Vapor retarder such as certainty MemBrain seem to be a wiser choice – if you think otherwise feel free to comment / offer your experience / advice. In the previous double stud wall version the VR layer could be on the backside of the inner stud layer allowing wiring and box installation to not complicate the VR layer. Encasing outlet boxes and such in the vapor retarder layer in a single stud wall