GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Wall systems decision

abelardo1 | Posted in GBA Pro Help on

I am designing and home in the outskirts of Santa Fe, NM (climate zone 5B / elevation 6800 ft.).
I am interested in energy efficiency, low maintenance and overall best choice for this climate.
(note: we are planning to use geo-exchange heating and cooling + PV’s to minimize energy costs as the site will only have electrical and propane fuel sources)
We all know pretty well the pros and cons of double wall frame construction for this area.
Adobe brick seems to be a nice and locally available method, but it seems to take much longer, cost much more and requires rigid foam insulation on the exterior.
ICF & pumice walls are also a common option, but I have little knowledge of the pros and cons of these methods.
The last choice I’ve researched is AAC block (e-crete or Hebel) which seems to be an easy and effective system. Alas it does not seem to be common method in the area.

I’ve read all the articles on this and other sites for all of these systems, but none seem to give much of a conclusive direction one way or another.
Any information, input and opinions will be appreciated.
thx!

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Abelardo,
    There seems to be something about Santa Fe that leads homeowners and builders to obsess about wall specifications. What is it about Santa Fe?

GBA reader Kim Shanahan wrote about this phenomenon in a comment posted on this site. (It was in response to an article on earthships.) Shanahan wrote: