GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Foundation waterproofing retrofit

mla12 | Posted in General Questions on

Howdy. I know questions come up like this all the time but I’ve been reading a thousand pages on the subject and would appreciate some sanity-checking on my plan.

We bought a house last year that’s roughly two years old. I’m no expert, but I think it would be considered a mid-level build; it certainly isn’t a green/leed-level design.

We have a poured concrete foundation with a crawlspace. Heavy clay backfill. I’ve noticed some water intrusion into the crawlspace around some of the pipe penetrations; not a ton of water, but some.

I’ve excavated that area of the foundation (see photos). The pipes have some sort of sealant applied around them although it looks like it may be partially peeling off.

Some sections of the foundation had a tar emulsion applied to it (which I understand is considered “damp-proofing” not “water-proofing”).

So, since I’m going through the pain of excavating the area, I’d really like to do the job as right as possible, without breaking the bank.

From my readings, here’s what I’m planning:

• Excavate to footing and clean off all existing material
  • Seal pipe penetrations, both side and out, with Masterseal NP1
  • Apply a waterproof membrane coating. Looking at Masterseal HLM 5000

My questions:

• What do you think of those products? I’m hoping I can find places to purchase them as a DIYer