GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

How does the national Green Building standard rate vs energy star

Andy Rosenthal | Posted in General Questions on

I am a builder in Montgomery County Maryland. The County Council has mandated that by 2010 all new homes must be energy star rated. The bill also leaves the door open for alternatives that are comparable. I need to be able to have the information available for the Department of Environmental Control that compares a home that is rated by both Energy star and The national Green Building Standard to demonstrate that the national Green Building Standard would be a viable additional alternative for a builder to choose when building a new home in the County.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Andy,
    On the National Green Building Standard's performance path, a house at the lowest level — the bronze level — must be 15% more efficient than a house built to the 2006 International Energy Conservation Code (essentially the same as an Energy Star qualified home). Silver, gold, and emerald homes must be more energy efficient than houses that minimally comply with Energy Star standards.

2. MICHAEL CHANDLER | | #2

Having lived through the Energy Star reset that happened in 2006 (homes that I was building at 65% better than code were suddenly 30% better than code) I can see your reservation about linking your local county to that single standard. I cannot imagine any way to build a home that meets the National Green Building Standard that is not also 15% better than code.