GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Metal roof types?

SLCtinman | Posted in General Questions on

I am a residential designer with a client who wishes to have a metal roof. The question is what are the pros and cons of standing seam metal roofs vs other, less expensive types?

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Timothy,
    Standing-seam roofs have concealed fasteners. To many eyes, this improves the appearance of the roof.

Some people believe that a standing-seam roof will last longer than a through-fastened roof, but I don't believe there is any universal rule that holds here. The answer is, "It depends." A well installed, well detailed through-fastened metal roof will last for decades -- certainly longer than a poorly installed standing-seam roof.

2. mrbreadpuddin | | #2

I have read about moisture condensing undeneath ribbed roofing and causing prob;ems, if you search fine homebuilding you might come up with something on that. Also ribbed roofing is harder to detail around dormers and skylights.

3. SLCtinman | | #3

Thanks for the replies! Primarily I am finding the primary difference (besides price!) is indeed aesthetics...as for Mr Goodwin's comment about harder to detail, how much harder? moderately harder, alot harder? I think the key is as Mr Holladay said (and this applies to alot of items in the construction field) "a well-installed, well-detailed..."

4. user-659915 | | #4

• Apart from the visible fastenings, ridge and hip flashing details on a ribbed roof tend to be chunkier and more prominent.