GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Hi, I’m a new real estate agent and I would like to sell energy efficient, clean and safe homes.

teliarivers | Posted in General Questions on

I’ve never spoken with a builder before but would love to learn how to sell these homes. I really want to feel good about the homes that I help sell. Any advice or opinions that you give are welcome. Thanks.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Telia,
    What makes you think that the homes you are selling are more energy-efficient than average? Do you have any evidence of that claim?

2. LucyF | | #2

Telia,

The problem is that in general the homes in the US are not really very energy efficient. So finding energy efficient homes to sell may be more difficult than actually selling them.

There is evidence that certified energy efficient homes sell faster and for more money than do non-certified homes. The research that I found is from the Earth Advantage institute in Portland Oregon http://www.earthadvantage.org/resources/library/research/certified-homes-outperform-non-certified-homes-for-fourth-year/.

You have to realize though that people in certain areas of the country are more informed about energy efficiency than other places. I live in South Carolina where people think a wall built with 2 x 4s and insulated with fiberglass is well-insulated. The west coast and the northeast are the "hotbeds" of green building where your buyers would be more educated and actually need less "selling" than here in the South.