GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

One Chicago building envelope system

jgram21 | Posted in General Questions on

Thank you all GBA participants who have help educate me on the latest building science and green solutions. I’ve used quite a lot of this forums past and present posts to make informed decisions on my upcoming rehab project. I have 20 years experience in renovations but this is my first whole house design/build attempting to apply sustainable principles to one of my projects. My last project was in 2005.

For this project, I have hired an energy modeler to run scenarios and for now the design is showing a LEED Gold home with a mini-split system (renewable energy source) with a total BTUh of under 30,000 with this house system.

Chicago (Zone 5) gut rehab of an 1896 8 inch wythe masonry three story rowhome in Lincoln Park. First level is 13″ below grade and 8′ ceiling. 2nd level 11 ft and 3rd 10 ft. Flat roof. Located (abutting) the El tracks. Seeking LEED certification. Total footprint 750sf per level.

The systems:

Heat?Cool: 5 separate Mitsubishi Hyper-Heat pump units and installation of radiant heat tubing in the basement. Future PV panels.

Windows: standard tilt & turn vinyl window with 1/4″ lami over 3/16″ low-e U-value 0.25

FLOOR: slab on grade with radiant heat off dual water heater/boiler (any suggestions on this solution?) I’ve been looking at the GE Hybrid but it is not a radiant floor solution and water heater. R10 rigid insulation under 5″ slab with edge insulation. Note sure yet on final flooring (polished concrete sounds expensive). Cork?