GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

What causes this mildew?

swelty | Posted in General Questions on

I am trying to understand what is causing the “mildew” striations in the attached image. I am an architect in Southern Louisiana and saw this happening on a local building (not one of mine) and I am trying to understand what can cause this issue, so that I can prevent this on any of my projects. A little background about the picture. The building is in hot-humid climate in southern Louisiana. The picture is taken on the north/west facade. It is a church with a large interior volume. Wall construction is probably cement Stucco with a membrane (not sure what type or perm) with dens glass sheathing, metal studs and probably batt insulation (not sure if it has a kraft facing) in between the metal studs and gypsum board on the interior. I understand that this wall construction is not the ideal construction wall type for hot-humid climates, but this is how a lot of commercial people build down here in Louisiana, even if it is wrong.

A lot of people (not into green building) tend to think this is just what typically happens on a north facade. Is there any logic to this? To me it seems that it may be that the wall batt insulation may not have been installed properly and is allowing condensation on the backside of the wall? Is this likely? What are your thoughts? Then the main question, is this a cause for long-term concern?

Thanks for your input and looking forward to hearing your responses.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Scott,