GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Help with insulating knee wall

adamsWD | Posted in General Questions on

Hi- Working on building out gaage attic for gameroom. Located in Houston Texas. I’m a novice at insulating and have been bouncing around solutions for a DIY and may have made mistakes along the way.

First direction was to simply insulate 6′ knee walls with kraft backed fiberglass with drywall covering. My kneewall stud spacing is terrible at 18-20″ centers. Therefore I bought R-19 made for 19″ C/L wall studs not being concerned about thickness.. I later learned that batting alone will eventaually fall from the paper unless it’s backed with sheathing. Ok. I’ve now sheathed the backside of the knee walls with 22 sheets R-Max R-5 polyiso. Joints are taped, foamed from the front. Well. I’m now reading R-19 should not be installed in 2 x 4 walls as it will loose R-value as well as potentially cause bowing and pops with drywall screws.

I’ve installed the R-19 in 4-5 cavities and yes it does stick out 1-2 inches in the center but seems to compress pretty easily. Knowing I’ll loose some R-value can I use the R-19 and not have drywall problems? Not sure what to do as I’ve got $400 worth of R-19 which I don’t think I can return as it was a special order width.

Picture atttached prior to construction.

Please help.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Expert Member
    Dana Dorsett | | #1