GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Warmfloor versus hydronic heating set in gypcrete or Maxxon Therma-flor?

dungenessdesign | Posted in General Questions on

I’m an architect in WA. A client is building a new home in Eureka, CA. I had specified hydronic radiant heating set in a Maxxon Therma-Floor (similar to gypcrete) base. There is no supplier in the Eureka area. Apparently it comes out of Santa Rosa or Sacramento. The owner and contractor are now thinking about using Warmfloor (electric radiant heating). I have heard that the heat fluctuates more with Warmfloor because there is no mass. Does anyone have experience with Warmfloor? or any suggestions about gypcrete supplier/installer for the Eureka area?

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Karla,
    I'm no fan of hydronically heated floors, but hydronic heating systems almost always make more sense than electric-resistance systems like Warmfloor. Unless your electricity rates are quite low, or your building envelope is extremely well insulated and tight, or the house has a very large PV system, heating with electric resistance elements usually condemns the homeowner to high energy bills.

2. Expert Member
    Dana Dorsett | | #2

WarmBoard (tm) or tubing under a wooden subfloor using extruded aluminum sections to get the heat out of the tubing & into the subfloor can work at condensing water temperatures for high efficiency using condensing boilers, just like the gypsum & lightweight concrete solutions. It's more expensive to install than resistive electric mats, but quite a bit cheaper to run.