GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Question from the field… performance after cutting spray foam

hull187 | Posted in General Questions on

Hey all,

I’m a contractor interested in building performance. It’s common practice that after installing windows and doors, you spray foam to seal the rough opening. This then gets cut back to accept drywall/trim/siding.

I’ve always wondered if cutting the spray foam affects the spray foam’s performance? Before cutting, the foam develops a nice hard skin and it seems to me that doing away with this might be a bad thing. Is there any data on this?

Thanks,

Steve

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Steve,
    I've heard builders express the opinion that you just shared, but I haven't seen any research or data to back up the theory.

Here's what I do know, however: even if you have a very careful trigger finger, and manage to install just the right amount of canned spray foam around a window so that it doesn't expand beyond the plane of your framing, so that no trimming is required, the spray foam still isn't airtight. You'll still get a little air leakage -- either through pores in the foam, or due to imperfect adhesion with the framing lumber and window frame.

That's why builders obsessed with airtightness use a belt-and-suspenders approach (canned spray foam plus European tape on the interior).

2. kloopster | | #2

Steve,

Don't ignore chinking to air seal the window frame. The new formulations really are amazing materials:

http://www.sansin.com/product/timber-tec-chinking/

I like this product, a lot.