GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Bug screen for rainscreen strapping…how wide to cut?

unclejemima | Posted in General Questions on

I’m a rookie with this. First time building a rainscreen. I’ve got my WBB on the house and would like to apply my 3/8 strapping to create and airgap.

I picked up a few hundred feet of 4′ bug screen and I will first apply a layer top and bottom, then my strapping and then staple the bug screen on-top of the strapping making the air gap, hopefully, bug free.

So, question. How much bug screen do I need to apply? I was thinking 6″ strip, staple to sheathing/WRB 3″ up, then wrap it over-top giving me 3″ wrap. Is this enough? Basically, its just the bottom that will be covered that’s important, but curious how far guys wrap it up the sides?

I was going to do ridge vent but its $$$!!!

Thanks in advance

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. unclejemima | | #1

Oh, and I suppose I should probably put my aluminum window drip edge on before the bug wrap.

So steps...WRB, window drip edge top and bottom, bug screen, strapping. Sound right?

Thanks!

2. Expert Member
    MALCOLM TAYLOR | | #2

Mark, hardly anyone uses bug screen at the base now - it was too vulnerable to damage. Use either a U shaped or L flashing made out of perforated metal. All the lumberyards here stock them, but if they don't where you are you can get them made up, or if you have a break make your own.
    http://www.menzies-metal.com/vent-flashings/perforated-j-channel-rain-screen-high-back

3. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #3

Mark,