GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Is there a standard factor General Contractors use when calculating their fee to construct?

mooney231lv | Posted in General Questions on

I am in discussion with a builder to construct my new home in zone 4B. We have engaged the services of an energy modeler to determine how to build the most efficient house within the budget. We are grossly over budget, at the moment. I noted that the GC has build a 16% fee into the budget to build the house. This is on top of all the subs and the contigency. Not wanting to negotiate something I have no background on, I’m wondering if this is a negotiated fee or is there some standard? I understand my builder needs to make a profit but I would love to get 16% return on my investments!

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. dankolbert | | #1

Do you negotiate with the supermarket on their markup? As a general contractor, I have yet to find an alternative to making a living other than charging more for a product than it costs me to produce it. And it seems to me you have a pretty poor understanding of what you're trying to "negotiate" from your question. To take your points in order:

1) You are grossly over budget, I'm guessing, because you want more than you want to pay for. If you think your contractor is too expensive, get another price. Otherwise, the safest route to a lower cost is less work.