GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

High indoor humidity

user-5610598 | Posted in General Questions on

I’ve been trying to lower the indoor humidity in my 1961 stone ranch. On average in the master bedroom, the relative humidity hovers between 70-75% with an average temperature of 61 degrees. This has made for an unpleasant winter to say the least.

To tackle the moisture problem we had continuously vented soffits installed along with baffles to keep the cellulose insulation clear of the soffits. This did nothing to reduce moisture in the conditioned space. I’ve also tried running a large dehumidifier in the basement just beneath the master bedroom which got the basement humidity to about 35% but made no difference in the room above.

I’m not an expert at this by any means but my guesses are that the leaky 1960s windows and the entirely uninsulated walls are not helping.

What would you do next to tackle this issue? I’m considering spray foaming the basement rim joists as my next project which should stop some air movement but really I want my next home project to be a big win with regards to indoor humidity.

Any thoughts are appreciated!

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. charlie_sullivan | | #1

What climate are you in? Do you have exhaust fans in the bathrooms and do you use them during/after showers?

2. user-5610598 | | #2

I'm in zone 6B (southeastern Pennsylvania). We use bathroom fans but even on days where no showering has taken place the humidity never drops below 70%.

3. davidmeiland | | #3