GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

HRV versus ERV

user-4401404 | Posted in General Questions on

I’m a retired builder and have a HRV in my 10 yr old home. I’ve heard a lot about ERV’s. My question is what does an ERV do and how does it differ from an HRV? I live in Golden B.C. Canada and heat my home for 8 mths. of the year.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Reid Baldwin | | #1

The short answer is that, in addition to transferring heat from the warmer airstream to the colder airstream, an ERV also exchanges humidity from the more humid airstream to the less humid airstream. For a more thorough answer, see: https://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/blogs/dept/musings/hrv-or-erv

2. Expert Member
    Dana Dorsett | | #2

In any B.C. climate the average latent-cooling loads are negative, an ERV buys you nothing in cooling energy use (which is already pretty low), and nothing in comfort. ERVs makes some sense in places like Florida or the gulf coast of Texas where outdoor dew points average 22C or more, and moisture is a large fraction of the cooling loads, but even there it's only "worth it" if you need/want to support high ventilation rates without adding a lot to the latent cooling energy use.

3. Reid Baldwin | | #3

Dana, Would Jerry be able to maintain comfortable indoor humidity in winter easier with an ERV?

4. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #4

Jerry,