GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

How to insulate and sheathe my walls?

VTRun | Posted in Green Building Techniques on

Hello,

I am renovating a 1920s home in Vermont. Its a four square New-Englander with a hip roof.

Right now we have the old plaster stripped off, and lath exposed. What I would like to do is;

1- Blow in cellulose insulation behind lath.
2- Plaster over the lath.

I am wondering if the lath will contain the cellulose or if the 1/4″ or so gap between the lath will exhaust a mess of cellulose. I would also like to know if the plaster can key once the cellulose is in, or is the cellulose going to block my plaster from locking into the lath? I am new to plaster and cellulose, so I am hoping to get some advise before I wast time and money…

I appreciate your thoughts,

Justin

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Justin,
    As far as I know, the gaps between the lath are going to be a problem. Cellulose will leak out of those gaps, and you'll have difficulty dense-packing the cavities.

Dense-packing cellulose is tricky work, so you are probably going to be working with an insulation contractor. Trust your contractor to provide good advice.

If I were you, I would (a) mark the stud locations on the subfloor, and (b) install rock lath (a product that looks like drywall) over the wooden lath. Then your insulation contractor can drill holes through the rock lath to insulate your stud bays. Once that work is done, you can repair the holes and install plaster over the rock lath.

-- Martin Holladay

2. VTRun | | #2

Thanks USER-756436,