GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Small addition with helical pile foundation in Toronto Canada

lowelllodesign | Posted in Green Building Techniques on

Hi GBA,

I am an architect in Toronto. My client is a contractor who wants to build a small one storey addition using helical pile foundation instead of continuous foundation to save on cost.

The finished floor is raised above the grade by about 21″.

My questions:

-Can I use chicken wire to support the fibreglass insulation in the floor joists as it would be difficult to finish the underside of the floor with plywood I think
-Do I need a air-barrier like tyvek under the fibreglass insulation
-I am detailing 2″ of XPS rigid foam on top of the floor joist for a thermal break, will this work?
-Can I use electric radiant floor to heat this small addition?

Attached wall section and proposed floor plan.

Thanks much,
Lowell Lo
Architect
http://www.lowelllodesign.com

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Lowell,
    I believe that crawl spaces should be high enough to allow for human access and repair work. Can you lower the grade?

The short answers:

1. Chicken wire is a bad idea (and an invitation to rodents). You need OSB or plywood.

2. Yes, you need a tight air barrier on the underside of the floor assembly.

3. Rigid foam cannot be sandwiched between floor joists and subflooring because the tops of the joists dig into the rigid foam. The rigid foam belongs on the bottom of the assembly, between the bottom of the floor joists and the protective OSB or plywood.