GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Cost effective exterior wall construction.

jwyman | Posted in Green Building Techniques on

In exploring options for a cost effective R-40 exterior wall in a cold climate (Western Massachusetts), I am left scratching my head. As a residential designer, I have researched Building Science’s website and their High R wall systems, where multiple layers of rigid insulation and a thermal break is their obvious choice. However, when clients want shingled siding and decorative trim, I want the sheathing on the exterior face of the rigid for consistent nailing. In addition, my structural engineer wants the sheathing directly nailed to the studs for shear (100 mph wind speed).

That being said, I was planning a double 2 x 4 wall filled with dens-pack cellulose. However, I just witnessed a hybrid wall, framed with 2 x 6’s (or 2 x 8’s) at two feet centers and rigid insulation spacers on the inside face each stud with horizontal interior nailers. This provided a thermal break, increased the bay depth and was cost effective. Any ideas on the pro’s and con’s of each?

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Doug McEvers | | #1

Jon,