GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Damp spray insulation voids

Mr_Gerbik | Posted in Green Building Techniques on

Looking for some advice.

I recently had my walls damp sprayed with cellulose. Upon checking everything out after they left, I noticed some voids (or dimples) in the installation where the cavity wasn’t quite filled. They are between .5 to 1 inch deep by maybe a square foot. Not a big deal in terms of r value (stud cavities are true 6″), but I had a couple questions:

Is this to be expected? Some part of me imagined these cavities should have all been 100% full, as it doesn’t seem it would be hard to overload them as the scrubber takes care of the rest.

Is this a problem? I’m not an engineer, or a very smart guy. I just want to be sure the gap between drywall and insulation will not pose a problem.

The insulation seems quite damp yet, I know every place has said this is fine, but seems disconcerting. I will not be using an internal vapor barrier and that should aid in drying, I don’t suppose the cold winter is helping.

I invested in the cellulose over batt insulation because of irregular cavity sizes, among other things. I just want to make sure that I got what I paid for.

Thanks!

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Ryan,