GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Building science options

schatzyman | Posted in Green Building Techniques on

looking for advice on options on getting into building science & green renovation —- it seems there is still a disconnect between the building science research and the builders in the field.

Quick background on me — I have a Chemistry degree and taught the subject for 8 years before leaving the field to be a remodeling contractor — so I am very interested in the science behind renovating from an energy standpoint.

Are there any certifications/training I could invest in to expand my business that would be both beneficial from an education standpoint as well as a business one? I don’t hear a lot of contractors in my area talking about building science or incorporating these techniques into their bids. Quick example, I recently quoted a job for the renovation of a room that included a vaulted ceiling that is not properly insulated or vented. The other bids that the customer received involved popping numerous recessed lights into the ceiling and made zero mention of properly air sealing them, of venting the roof deck, or of foaming the deck and including it as part of the conditioned space. While I personally feel confident discussing these issues with a potential customer, I don’t have any official “certification” to provide to show them I am any more right/wrong than the other contractors. I briefly researched BPI certification, but not sure if that is at all useful or appropriate.

Any/all thoughts and perspectives are greatly appreciated!

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. RZR | | #1