GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Rigid foam around SIPs in climate zone 4a?

mbbender | Posted in Green Building Techniques on

I’ve been a passive (not pun intended) participant of these boards and this site for a while. It seems hard to catch up on it all, so hopefully my question here isn’t terrible 🙂

I’m thinking of scraping my house off the land and building new. My goal is zero net energy. I’ve extensively remodeled one home including an addition myself, but I’m no professional. I do want to build and subcontract most of this home myself as well. I’m just an avid building science lover and construction enthusiast.

I’m looking to build a SIPS home, likely on a poured concrete, exterior insulated (or ICF) basement. In researching all the details and joins in a SIPS home, while obviously substantially better than a stick framed home, it seems a stick framed home with exterior rigid foam and attention to detail would outperform a sips home.

I like the speed, simplicity, and seemingly reduced environmental impact of SIPS building, but I’m wondering if adding a thin layer of foil faced polyisocyanurate to ensure a thermal break in all the joints that don’t have them like window/door header, lumber splines, and some other stuff would be useful or if I could use that money to buy better windows or something else. (for windows looking into http://www.litezone.ca/ , any experiences?). I plan to also probably add a UV stable WRB, PT furring strips before siding and roofing so maybe that is enough?

Thanks.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. jackofalltrades777 | | #1