GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Interior window shutter/slider

keithtom | Posted in Green Products and Materials on

Hi,
Newbie here. Planning a new house in zone 10-high desert of California. Going with cmu exterior wall with separate 2×4 stud wall. Double wall basicsally, instead of strapping onto cmu for drywall. Thinking of leaving a 1-2″ gap between the 2 walls and using that gap to house a sliding/pocket shutter to greatly increase the effective R value if all windows. Haven’t seen any good commercially available products and I don’t want to Mickey Mouse a diy shutter. Anybody try this? Any insights?

TIA

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Keith,
    I'm not a fan of insulating thermal shutters. Lots of builders experimented with these shutters in the 1970s, but almost all were clumsy and soon abandoned. (Homeowners soon tire of the twice-a-day chore of closing and opening these shutters.)

I don't know of any commercially available products that would work for the application you describe.

By the way, you didn't tell us where you will install your wall insulation.

2. nick_vk | | #2

Apologies - I re-read the request and realized the question was about interior shutters.

-----
    I know nothing about this product other than it is manufactured down the street from where I live. And I also don't know if that have a product that would work between your two walls, as the product I am familiar with is stored in a somewhat bulky roll above the top of the window. But for what it's worth:

https://www.tucsonrollingshutters.com/product/rolling-shutters/