GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Possible to use Vented attic in conjunction with Open cell spray foam?

5221lefty | Posted in Green Products and Materials on

Hello there,
I am a General Contractor in Miami, FL (Hot and humid weather!) and I may get screamed at for asking this question, but is it possible to use continuous ventilation at the soffits (vented attic) in conjunction with Open cell spray foam (sprayed to the underside of the roof sheathing)?

We removed the wet/sweating R-30 batts insulation on an poorly vented attic and installed open cell spray foam, sprayed to the underside of the roof sheathing. The problem is that the attic has become extremely moist (don’t have a reading currently) to the point that the ductwork sweats (grilles and in attic) so badly that the drywall ceiling and paint are water damaged and peelling. The smell of moisture is quite pronounced on hot and sunny days. We cant seem to find a solution to mitigate the moisture other than:

1. Add a dehumidifier in the attic space
2. Add forced Air Conditioning in the attic space as suggested by some Building Science Engineers
or 3. Cut open the soffits and add continuous ventilation which would be the easiest and probably the cheapest solution.

Granted, the attic will not be airtight but maybe it will fix the moisture problem. Am I crazy to suggest this??

Thank you in advance for your insight and comments!

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. user-2310254 | | #1

5221Lefty,