GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

My new “older” home & whole home solar

ckoehn | Posted in Interior Design on

I’ve recently relocated to the Clear Lake area in CA and am very interested in upgrading to whole home solar; electricity, radiant flooring and hot water. I’m the only resident, approximately 1400 sq foot ranch style home, one level with wooden foundation with crawl space. Home has really not been updated, except for HVAC system, since construction in the 80s; VERY energy inefficient.

I’m a solar novice although have done quite a bit of reading. I’d really like some input from the gurus out there on viability based on a sole occupant and options; looking to do hydra not electric. The flooring has to be replaced regardless; currently combo of carpet, hardwoods and tile. Looking to replace with either tile or concrete for radiant heat conduction.

Any info, suggestions, help is greatly appreciated. Although I’m handy, I won’t be able to DIY unless minor stuff…..

My electricity provider is PGE; I’m not looking to get off grid entirely, at least not now.

Thanks very much for allowing me to join, and post.

CKoehn

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Cynthia,
    There are two types of solar equipment: solar electric (photovoltaic or PV) equipment and solar thermal (hot water) equipment.

You mentioned using solar energy to provide electricity, so clearly you want a PV system.

Hot water can be provided either with an electric water heater or with a solar thermal system.