GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

North Idaho ranch boiler sizing

user-6258531 | Posted in Mechanicals on

The plan for the N Idaho ranch is nearing completion. The house will be slab on grade with hydronic floor heat. There will be a natural gas fired boiler supplying heat to the floor tubing and an indirect water heater. Zone 6, heating 1800 sq ft interior plus garage, Attic R 60, Slab R 20, Walls R 23 blown fiberglass, Windows triple pane U .24. My calculations put the design heat loss at 28,000 BTU/hr using outdoor temp of -10F.

The first contractor has proposed using a Lochinvar 85,000 BTU/hr input modulating condensing boiler. This boiler also comes with a 55,000 BTU/hr input. Both have a 5:1 turn-down.
I’m no boiler expert but it appears to me that they have proposed an over-sized boiler.

Before I have this discussion with them, can someone please confirm the smaller boiler will work or explain to me why they may have proposed the right boiler?

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Steve,
    You'll get a lot of different opinions on how to size a boiler when there is an indirect water heater. It's true that you need a lot of BTU/h when two or three appliances or fixtures simultaneously call for hot water. But this situation is solved with controls, not a bigger boiler. When there is a demand for domestic hot water, the boiler controls can prioritize the indirect water heater zone and ignore space heating demands for a while. Don't worry -- your house won't cool off.