GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Mini-split for Phoenix, AZ duplex?

BenZone2b | Posted in Mechanicals on

Hello everybody,

I’m Ben and I’m new to GBA. Well, I’ve been reading lots of articles here and searching the Q&A, but this is my first post.

I recently purchased a duplex in downtown Phoenix, Arizona. It needs pretty much a total rehab. Most of the flooring needs to be replaced due to water and/or termite damage. This gives me the opportunity to seal the crawlspace if I want. Luckily, the exterior walls are all concrete block, so no terminte damage there.

My main question is about the cooling load for the place. It’s primarily two main rooms. One is a combined kitchen/dining/living space with no doors, and a separate bedroom with a door. I’ve run the calculator at: http://www.loadcalc.net/load.php and it says I need about 8500 btu/h cooling for each unit. Each unit is about 540SF. I used an outdoor temp of 122 and an indoor temp of 78 for the calc.

I’ve seen other calculators that give a much higher number.

If I install a 9000 btu/h unit, how do I get the conditioned air into the bedroom? I feel like I should install a 9+9 mini-split with a head in the front and one in the bedroom.

Thoughts?

Other data:
Each unit has about 80SF of windows and 38SF of exterior doors.
The west side of the building has a large shade tree shading the west wall and a good portion of the roof.

Other upgrades:
Outdoor NG on-demand hot water heater
Lots of insulation above the ceiling
PEX water lines

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Az.Guy,