GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Low voltage electric radiant floor heat

Ine | Posted in Mechanicals on

There was a question about electric radiant floor heat mats several days ago. I’ve seen a product called Step Warm Floor that uses a graphite based strip and runs on low voltage electric that the manufacturer claims is much more efficient – they suggest is one of the most efficient heating methods around. It also costs about 4 times as much as the normal voltage electric mats. I’m no expert on electric theory so can’t tell from the numbers if this would really work as advertised. Does this product have a track record of verified use? Any experience among participants here at GBA? Thanks.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Donald,
    Electric resistance heat, whether 24 VDC or 120 VAC, is always 100% efficient, and always expensive.

The only possible advantage to 24 VDC is the lower chance of electrocution when your kids start practicing with their hatchets on the bathroom floor.

Assuming your house isn't an off-grid home operating on 24 VDC, this system will be less efficient than a line-voltage system, because of the inevitable inefficiency of the transformer. Of course, the heat given up by the transformer still warms your house (unless you are foolish enough to locate the transformer in the garage) -- it just doesn't warm your floor.

2. Ine | | #2

Martin,