GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

I’m a builder planning my first conditioned attic and have questions and concerns.

jfincherok | Posted in Mechanicals on

1. We build slab on grade. Any problems placing sealed combustion furnaces (Carrier) and water heaters (Navien) in the conditioned space? My concern is that I assume they are at least somewhat leaky (CO, CO2, etc.). If so, does that pose a problem to IAQ?

2. I’m planning on using a balanced mechanical ventilation system (another first for me). I have read much on this website and others about ERV’s, HRV’s and other options, but am still having difficulty in choosing one. Bringing fresh air directly into the central air returns via a controlled damper sounds appealing and more economical. I build only spec homes so cost is definitely a deciding factor for me. The home will be in Oklahoma City which is kind of in the middle of hot & humid and cold. We get both extremes, but not for long periods of time.

Any suggestions are appreciated
Thanks.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Riversong | | #1

Sealed combustion appliances are required in some building efficiency programs (just as they've been required for a long time in manufactured housing) because they eliminate the problem of backdrafting of combustion products due to stack effect and mechanical ventilation pressures.