GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Has anyone ever set up a solar thermal system to essentially run backwards for Night Sky Radiation Cooling (NSRC)?

Nathan_Kipnis_FAIA | Posted in Mechanicals on

I have read a little about it on the internet, but I was curious if anyone has experience with it.

I am interested in alternative methods of cooling, and this is something that is of interest to me. I had John Yellott as a professor at ASU, who was a very early solar pioneer, developed the Skytherm system with Harold Hays for passive rooftop cooling in the desert, and built a lithium bromide A/C system for his home in Phoenix.

I live in the Chicago area, so I know this is probably not the solution I would use here due to a lack of really clear night time sky, but as an architect I occasionally do work in other climates and want to understand this in more detail for possible use on an appropriate project.

The system I have heard about is an unglazed solar panel set facing straight up into the night time sky, and running water through the panels at night to cool the water. I don’t know if this is a marginal strategy or one that could really work.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Nathan_Kipnis_FAIA | | #1

Kevin, thank you for the response. I would agree it would be a dedicated system, as the sloped angle of the collector would be a big problem, I think, for night time radiant cooling. And as you point out, the glazing would be a big efficiency problem.