GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Recommendations for Manual J software?

CramerSilkworth | Posted in Mechanicals on

Hi All,

I’m looking into software to perform Manual J calcs, and perhaps also do other simulation/calculations as well. I’m fluent with the PHPP and another software called TrnSys (from a previous job), but I’m looking for something more common in the residential efficiency world.

I’ve read Martin’s article about Manual D & J calcs and the software links there, but before I go and drop $300-500 on software that may or may not be decent, does anyone have any recommendations? I’m a mechanical engineer and fairly computer literate but still would appreciate a well thought out and easy to use software.

Thanks,
Cramer

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Expert Member
    ARMANDO COBO | | #1

The two most common software used by HVAC folks are Elite and Wrightsoft.

2. user-626934 | | #2

Cramer,

I doubt you'll find one that's "well thought out and easy to use." The four Manual J software packages referenced in Martin's article are currently the only ones that are ACCA-approved. That said, I use Wrightsoft (Right-J) for Manual J work.

Manual D calcs don't require special software. I use my own Excel spreadsheet using the methods and formulas in the manual because it makes more sense to me than the inputs in Right-D.

3. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #3

Cramer,
    Perhaps it's worth reminding GBA readers that before computers became available, engineers and HVAC contractors (and 21-year-old college dropouts) routinely performed heat loss calculations with a pencil and paper.