GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Lunos e2 ductless HRV system vs. ducted system

user-6323668 | Posted in Mechanicals on

I am building a net zero house, 2000 SF, 2 stories. Can you tell me the pros and cons of the Lunos e2 ductless HRV system vs. a ducted system? The rep told me that 3 pairs of the Lunos e2 would be about right.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Courtney,
    Here's a link to a relevant article -- I don't know if you've read it yet, but if you haven't, it's a good place to start: Designing a Good Ventilation System.

2. brp_nh | | #2

I'm not a building professional, but have looked into ventilation systems during various stages of our (now completed) very well air sealed net positive house. A few initial points:

you should provide your location so those giving advice know your climate
    there are other aspects of your house that may affect ventilation systems...what is your heating plan? range hood type in kitchen? # of bathrooms/showers?
    you don't want to mess up this decision...so you'll need to do tons of research on your own until you fully understand ventilation systems and/or you may want to hire an independent consultant to help out

A ventilation system need to accomplish two main goals: lower volume continuous ventilation for fresh air and higher volume as needed ventilation for showers/etc.