GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Green & Passive design

elementsdesignbuild | Posted in Plans Review on

As an architectural designer, I have long been interested in green and passive home design, having dabbled and dreamed. I now have a project that will encompass both, as well as the use of SIPs for roof and walls.
Simple questions with elusive answers:
1. Where can I find the angles of the sun at June 21 & Dec. 21 for a specific latitude?
2. How do a loft area and high vaulted ceilings fit in? It seems that both the Window to Wall ratios, and mechanical load numbers are all calculated using square footage. Surely ceiling height and volume have an impact.
3. Is there ANY wood-burning fireplace or stove that doesn’t cause a net negative?

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Becky,
    Q. "Where can I find the angles of the sun at June 21 & Dec. 21 for a specific latitude?"

A. Sustainable by Design: Design Tools.

-- Martin Holladay

2. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #2

Becky,
    Q. "How do a loft area and high vaulted ceilings fit in? It seems that both the Window to Wall ratios, and mechanical load numbers are all calculated using square footage. Surely ceiling height and volume have an impact."

A. A house with 16-foot ceilings will have walls that are twice as high -- and therefore have greater area -- than a house with 8-foot ceilings. So wall height will definitely affect the window-to-wall ratio.

There are lots of ways to calculate a design heating load and design cooling load, but all accurate methods will include inputs for wall height.