GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Passive open-concept family home in Climate Zone 8 – Ontario

kiefk | Posted in Plans Review on

Hi All

I just finished binge listening to some finehomebuilding podcasts and heard the 2 with Martin in and thoroughly enjoyed listening. We would live in US Zone 8 being 45 minutes north of Grand Portage, MN.
Degree Day Rating (18C / 64F) 5673

I am looking to build the best family home I can next year with a budget of around C$400k. It’s on 30 acres with well and hydro already in place. Looking to have maximum Southern exposure for passive heating and spend the money more on materials than labour. I am hoping to labour as much as I can around shift work as well as maybe do the electrical and PEX plumbing to save costs. I am a qualified UK electrician and it seems fairly straightforward with some subtle differences.

So my plan at the moment, with a PH architect doing the building drawings etc, is:

FPSF floating slab foundation R44 [Isoslab’s 16″ kit]
SIP exterior walls R38 [Thermapan from Toronto area]
Triple glazed Tilt & Turn windows [Geneo uPVC Access windows Winnipeg]
Slate effect Metal Roofing [Wakefield Bridge – English Slate]
Insulated PVC Siding [Cedraboards XL]
Zehnder Comfoair 550 HRV with pre heat [Small Planet Supply]
AO Smith 66G Hybrid HW tank
Zero clearance see-through wood fireplace [Supreme Duet]

Colour & polish the concrete slab for a finished floor.
Majority of the windows on the Southern side for passive heat with relevant overhangs to prevent summer overheating.
Thinking SIP walls due to limited building season, starting in June 2018 to guarantee slab has best chance to prevent cracking etc as it’s our finished floor, reduce waste and labour/framing costs.