GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Cedar shingles directly over rigid

GBA Editor | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

Has anyone experienced any issues w/ installing cedar shingles directly over 1″ rigid and nailed back to 1/2″ sheathing behind the rigid? Any movement to the shingles? Is it necessary to install a building wrap or felt b/w the shingles and rigid assuming the rigid has taped seams?

Dow recommends wood sheathing or furring strips over the rigid, but not sure if this is necessary with 1″ of foam.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Riversong | | #1

I have no direct experience with such an envelope because I would never consider building one like that. Cedar shingles are a wonderful cladding because they are so breatheable, but they need a breatheable membrane or sheathing behind them. The small-diameter fasteners required for cedar shingles would tend to be unstable if not embedded directly into wood sheathing (plywood or strapping, if not sawn boards).

#15 felt is the appropriate underlayment for cedar shingles, which swell and shrink with changes in ambient relative humidity and rainfall. If they are finished on the outside, it becomes more important for them to be able to breathe to the inside. I would never install cedar shingles on plastic, either foam board or polymeric housewrap (with the possible exception of Cedar Breather).

2. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #2

Chris,
    Don't do it. Builders experimented with wood siding over foam in the 1980s, with disastrous results, including cupping and splitting.